License to Carry (LTC) Information
License to Carry (LTC) was formally known as the Concealed Handgun License (CHL).
We offer LTC classes several times each month. If our scheduled dates don’t work for you, get a group of at least 4 people to take this class together, and we will try to schedule a private class for your group!
The LTC Class is not a beginner training class. This is for experienced shooters only! Students are expected to have basic gun-handling skills, have the ability to clear malfunctions, and to demonstrate firearm safety at all times.
Overview of this Course
Texas DPS requires an original (first-time) LTC applicant to complete four to six hours of classroom training, pass a written examination and pass a proficiency demonstration (shooting). LTC Instructors at Shady Oaks Gun Range are certified and approved by DPS to provide this course. Upon successful completion of the training class, the instructor will provide you with a Certificate (Form-100). You will need to submit this form to DPS to complete your application for the LTC License.
STEP 1 – Check Your Eligibility
The LTC Law sets out the eligibility criteria that must be met. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age (unless active duty military) and must meet Federal qualifications to purchase a handgun. A number of factors may make you ineligible to obtain a license, such as: felony convictions and some misdemeanor convictions, including charges that resulted in probation or deferred adjudication; pending criminal charges; chemical or alcohol dependency; certain types of psychological diagnoses protective or restraining orders, and defaults on state or city taxes, governmental fees, or child support. Eligibility requirements can be found in GC §411.172. You must also submit a completed application, pay the required fees and submit all of the required supplemental forms and materials.
A person is eligible for a License to Carry if the person:
- is a legal resident of this state for the six month period preceding the date of application,
- is at least 21 years of age (military 18 – 21 years of age now eligible – 2005 Texas LTC Law change),
- has not been convicted of a felony,
- is not currently charged with the commission of a felony, Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or equivalent offense, or an offense under Sec. 42.01 of the penal Code (Disorderly Conduct) or equivalent offense, is not a fugitive from justice for a felony, Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or equivalent offense,
- is not chemically dependent (a person with two convictions within the ten year period preceding the date of application for offenses (Class B or greater) involving the use of alcohol or a controlled substance is ineligible as a chemically-dependent person. Other evidence of chemical dependency may also make an individual ineligible for a LTC),
- is not incapable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun, has not, in the five years preceding the application, been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or equivalent offense, or an offense under Section 42.01 of the Penal Code (Disorderly Conduct) or equivalent offense,
- is fully qualified under applicable federal and state law to purchase a handgun,
- has not been finally determined to be delinquent in making child support administered or collected by the attorney general,
- has not been finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money collected by the comptroller, state treasurer, tax collector of a political subdivision, Alcohol Beverage Commission or any other agency or subdivision,
- is not currently restricted under a court protective order subject to a restraining order affecting a spousal relationship,
- has not, in the 10 years preceding the date of application, been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law in the grade of felony,
- has not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in an application submitted pursuant to Section 411.174 or in a request for application submitted pursuant to Section 411.175.
You may contact the DPS helpline at (512) 424-7293 or email them at: firstname.lastname@example.org
Step 2 – Application
Complete and submit your LTC Application online.
Please note: The Texas DPS no longer requires passport photos if you have a Texas Driver License or State ID. Non-resident Texas CHL applicants must submit a CHL-6 Form with passport photos.
Step 3 – Fingerprint Appointment
Schedule a Finger Print Appointment. Walk-in service is not available. Fingerprints must be obtained from an approved location contracted by DPS. More information can be found on the DPS website:
Step 4 – LTC Class
Mandatory Course Topics
There are four (4) required topics: Use of Force, Non-Violent Dispute Resolution, Handgun Use, and Safe and Proper Storage of Handguns and Ammunition.
- It is required that each applicant take a written test that consists of 25 questions multiple choice and true/false questions.
- A score of 70% is required to pass the classroom portion of class
- It is required that each applicant participate in 50 round course of fire scoring a 70% or better to pass the range portion of class.
- .32 caliber and higher Revolver or Semi-Auto is acceptable for qualification
- Military Range Qualification Record is acceptable. Must be dated within 5 years from date of application
- The shooting qualification is fired at three distances: 20 rounds @ 3 yards, 20 rounds at 7 yards, and 10 rounds @ 15 yards.
Course Completion Certificate
Once you have completed the required class hours, we will give you a certificate to be sent to TXDPS for processing. You have one year from the date of your application to complete your fingerprint appointment and submit your Class Completion Certificate. Your Class Completion Certificate is valid for two years after your LTC class.
Required for this class
- TX drivers license
- Handgun of your choice (Rentals available if needed)
- 50 rounds of ammunition (Available for purchase if needed)
- Hearing and eye protection (Available for purchase if needed)
- Hat (recommended)
- Closed toe shoes