Loading Events

« All Events

License to Carry (LTC) Class (In Person Class)

Sunday, July 28 @ 9:00 am - 3:30 pm

$110.00

License To Carry (LTC) Class

Instructor: Victoria Kogan
Max Class Size: 10 students
Date: Sunday, July 28, 2024
Class time: 9:00am-3:30pm
Cost: $110 per person

This is the in-person License to Carry Class with both the classroom portion AND the range proficiency demonstration.

PREREQUISITES:

  • You must be able to operate your firearm and load magazines by yourself for the range qualification.
  • This class is for you to demonstrate your ability to handle your gun safely in a self-defense scenario.

This class is NOT a beginner handgun class.  You should be comfortable using your pistol independently and safely on the range.  If you are a beginner novice with a firearm, you must get handgun training prior to this LTC class.  LTC students should be able to demonstrate COMPETENCE and CONFIDENCE with their gun handling.

After successful completion of this class, you will receive a Certificate of Training which YOU must submit to DPS as part of your LTC application process.

MUST BRING WITH YOU:

  • If you’ve never been to Shady Oaks Gun Range, please print, fill out, and bring with you: Questionnaire, Range Rules, and Insurance Waiver.  Or you can show up a few minutes early to complete the form at the range during check-in.
  • Texas drivers license or state-issued photo ID is required by the range.
  • Handgun of your choice (Rentals available if needed, no charge for the rental, but ammo is additional fee.  Show up a few minutes early to make arrangements.) All firearms must be in a bag or case when you arrive for check-in.
  • Ammunition: You will need 50 rounds for the shooting qualification.  (Available for purchase if needed.)
  • Hearing and eye protection are required on the range.  (Loaners available if needed, but it’s always better and more sanitary to bring your own personal equipment.)
  • Closed-toed shoes are required on the range (no sandals or flip flops).
  • Snacks and beverages (We do not take a “lunch” break — bring a sandwich, snack, COFFEE, beverage, etc. for a working lunch during class.)

What does the class cover?

  • DPS Module 1 – (2 hours) ‐ Laws that relate to weapons and to the use of deadly force
  • DPS Module 2 – (1 hour) ‐ Handgun use and safety, including use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns
  • DPS Module 3 – (45 min) ‐ Non‐violent dispute resolution
  • DPS Module 4 – (45 min) ‐ Proper storage practices for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child
  • Range Instruction Fundamentals – (1 hour) – Discussion of range etiquette, clearing malfunctions, managing recoil, and marksmanship fundamentals.  This is classroom discussion only and not for beginner novice shooters.  You must have a basic level of proficiency before this class.

Written Test

It is required that each applicant take a written test that consists of 25 questions multiple choice and true/false questions.  A score of 70% is required to pass the classroom portion of class.  Simply paying attention in class will be sufficient to successfully answer the test questions.

Range Qualification

  • We will follow the course of fire per the Texas DPS requirements: texreg.sos.state.tx.us/fids/201700716-1.pdf
  • Red dots are permitted.  However, any optic that magnifies is considered an optical enhancer, and those are not allowed per DPS.
  • Effective Sept. 1, 2017 – There is no minimum caliber requirement of the handgun used to demonstrate proficiency. (You can use .22LR)
  • You only need one magazine.  The shooting portion is generally split into strings of 5 rounds each with plenty of time to reload between strings.  Use of ammo speedloader is okay.
  • Please know you are NOT required to use your compact carry pistol.  In fact, unless you practice a lot with it, you are strongly encouraged to use a full-size gun because you will be shooting 50 rounds. This can be a little intense with a little gun if you don’t do this regularly.  It can also be difficult to hit the 15 yard shots with a small gun.  You want the biggest, heaviest gun you’re comfortable using or use a .22LR pistol.

Certificate of Training

Once you have completed the LTC Class requirements, the instructor will give you a Certificate of Training.  It is your responsibility to submit your Certificate of Training to TXDPS for processing.  Your Class Completion Certificate is valid for two years after your LTC class.

Next Steps

The License to Carry Class is only one step of four steps that need to be completed to receive your License to Carry. The steps to complete your LTC are listed (with links) at: https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/handgun-licensing/licensing-registration

——————————————————————-

Walk-ons are welcome if space is available.

——————————————————————–

Sign up to reserve your spot in this class. To do this, add a number in the field below, click “Get Tickets” and proceed to checkout.  The name used for the class reservation does not need to match the name on the LTC paperwork — Signing up for the class simply guarantees you a seat in the class.

Details

Date:
Sunday, July 28
Time:
9:00 am - 3:30 pm
Cost:
$110.00
Event Categories:
,

Venue

Shady Oaks Gun Range
3100 Woodall Drive
Cedar Park, TX 78613 United States
Phone
512-394-7734
View Venue Website

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
License to Carry Class Ticket (Sun, July 28, 2024 @ 9am – 3:30pm) $110
$ 110.00
10 available